Sprossling!

The knitting has been done for quite some time but like usual the sewing pieces together, picking up stitches for neckbands and zipperbands as well as sewing in the zipper seem to drag on forever (mainly because I’m avoiding it). So without waiting any further here is the finished project and it’s details!

Pattern: Sprossling by Anne Hanson of Knitspot.

Made for: Me 🙂

Size: Small (33.25″)

Yarn: 2.5 skeins of Tanis Fibre Arts Blue Label fingering weight in Blueberry

Needles: 2.5mm and 3.0mm 24″ circluar needles

Gauge: I got it but needed to go down a few needle sizes as per usual.

Started: July 18/10     Finished: Dec 19/10

Modifications: There were several. Although I knit the smaller size for all the pieces I did make an exception for the two fronts which I knit to the width required for a medium size however armhole and waist shaping was done the same as the small. The extra stitches were taken care of within the neckline which obviously also had to be modified. This pattern actually calls for buttons, not a zipper. Therefore, the buttonband was modified to become a zipperband. I preferred a zipper to buttons to avoiding puckering around the chest area which is also the reason I knit the fronts in the medium width.

This sweater is perfect and I simply loved the pattern. As per usual, Anne Hanson’s patterns are some of the best written patterns out there! Which as an aside makes it that much easier to modify it to fit your body type.

I finished sewing in the zipper yesterday so I could wear this to Sean’s parents holiday party. Sean’s mom noticed the sweater the second I walked in the door and complimented the pattern and the colour. When one of the gentlemen in attendance found out I knit the sweater and not bought it, he couldn’t stop complimenting the sweater (which he thought was from a store because he thought it looked far too nice to be a ‘homemade’ sweater) and quizzing me on knitting (which he thought was a dying art).

I am continuing my Anne Hanson kick with another of her sweaters (will blog it’s progress in the future) and have several others on my ‘want to make’ list.

One thought on “Sprossling!

Leave a Reply

