Sean’s Aran Sweater

Now that the gift giving holiday is over I can show those knits that are gifts that I couldn’t show before.Pattern: My pattern with Sean’s choice of yarn and individual cable stitch patterns.

Made for: Sean

Size: 40″ chest circumference

Yarn: Diamond Yarn Galway Heather, 9 balls

Needles: 3mm circulars for garter and 3.5mm circulars for cabled portion

Gauge: 20sts and 28 rows for a stockinette square on larger needles.

Started: April 8/10           Finished: Nov 14/10

This sweater was most certainly a labour of love. It is to date the most complicated sweater I have made. Not only it was cables but I had to determine armhole decreases in cabled pattern! Not quite as simple as it sounds since each cable has a slightly different gauge than the one it is next too. I made the neck opening wide as this was to be a dressy sweater so that there would be room for the collar of Sean’s dress shirts to lie undisturbed.

I did try to write up the pattern but due to computer hiccups I lost too much information to be able to do so.

Sean likes his sweater (always a relief) and has been wearing it since he got it on xmas morning. My mom and aunt who were in Ireland a few years back commented that it looked like a lot of the sweaters they saw while there.

One thought on “Sean’s Aran Sweater

Leave a Reply

