Bryan’s Last Minute Toque

What do you get the man that is impossible to buy for? I decided on making a toque when Sean said his Dad would wear anything I would make provided Lee (his mom) didn’t hate it.Pattern: A little help from Basic Hat Pattern by Anne Bud to determine the number of stitches to cast-on. I don’t like her decreases so I always do my own thing there.

Made for: Bryan (Sean’s Dad)

Size: Adult M/L (to fit a 23″ head)

Yarn: Just over 2 skeins of Filtes King Kamel (now discontinued)

Needles: 3.5mm 16″ circulars and dpns

Gauge: 5.5sts per inch blocked

Started: Dec 13/10            Finished: Dec 24/10

This yarn is from deep within my stash that I picked up from the bargain bins of Romni and it was a pleasure to work with. The only reason I can think that it was discontinued may have been the price as on sale it was still a bit high.Bryan loves it because it is very soft (he is a bit bald so the skin on his head has a lot more contact with the wool that forms the toque) and warm. He gave it a good work out this week.

Leave a Reply

