Pea Vines

Pattern: Pea Vines by Anne Hanson

Made for: Me!

Yarn: 1.5 skeins of Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino (KPPM) in a brown/green colourway (P315)

Needles: 3.omm needles to knit, however used 3.5mm needles for the cast-on to help ensure a lose cast-on edge.

Gauge: my unblocked stockinette stitch matched the one recommended by the pattern.

Size: mini (pattern has two more sizes, petite and tall)

Started: June 3/11                    Finished: June 10/11

I learned a new way to SSK for this shawl (to clarify I learned of this technique and applied it to this pattern). Instead of the slip the first stitch as if to knit and slip the second stitch as if to knit then knit the two stitches together through the back loop, you slip the first stitch as if to knit and slip the second stitch as if to purl then knit the two together through the back loop. It makes a much cleaner SSK that looks more like the smooth K2tog decrease, only it’s mirror.

I really enjoyed knitting this little shawlette and will most likely knit a larger size of it in the future. It is challenging enough because you do have to pay attention on both the right and wrong sides (although the yarn overs and decreases are only done on the right side) but it is not too difficult that is gets frustrating. It knits up awfully quick with the fingering weight yarn (I’ve only made lace with laceweight so this was a nice treat).

The one thing I would change about it however is the way the nupps are done. I tried the way recommended in the pattern and really did not enjoy that method (involved doing it all in one stitch on the right side) and I found it was really hard to get a smooth, pretty nupp. There is a good chance I will make this shawl again in the future but I think I will change the nupps to the way Nancy Bush does them as I find I prefer her way (the rapid increase of stitches is done on the right side and then they are all decreased on the wrong side) and find the nupps come out looking so much more charming (see Nanny’s Triangular Summer Shawl or the Madli scarf).

I love the colour of the Koigu. Although it is very variegated it manages to remain subtle while adding amazing depth to the yarn and the pattern. Since it is a fingering weight yarn it feels a little more sturdy than my lace weight shawls and might be more suitable to everyday wear.

There should be more finished objects making appearance soon on the blog, including the last secret project so stay tuned!

1 thought on “Pea Vines

  1. This is beautiful! Can I put in a request for this for Christmas in a colour I would like?: Rust or a green? Just lovely!

Leave a comment