Stash Acquisition (Part II of the TTC Knitalong 2011)

This post is about all the yummy yarn I splurged on while enjoying the TTC knitalong and I will be breaking it down by store! Although first things first; when arriving at the first store you receive your TTC knitalong bag filled with some swag which included a small skein of indigodragonfly captain tightpants yarn, some coupons, a Tanis Fibre Arts postcard, TTC map and mine also included a skein of cashmere donegal tweed which is no longer in my possession but I will explain why at the end of this post (it went to a good home).

The Knit Cafe: I purchased a skein of Madelinetosh Pashmina as I have heard so much about this yarn but haven’t had many opportunities to purchase, let alone play with it. While there I also picked up a skein of Fleece Artist Merino 2/6 as it is a wonderful yarn to make socks with among other things.

Romni Wools:As mentioned earlier Romni was having a 20% off all yarn purchases sale for the month of July. So I indulged in some lovely yarns and decided to treat myself to some roving. The roving is very very soft Australian wool top in a beautiful sage green colour (are you noticing a colour trend yet?). The yarn to the left is Handmaiden Double Sea Silk and I just couldn’t say no to the shine and crisp softness of the silk/seaweed blend. The yarn next to it is Fleece Artist Sea Wool (a merino/seaweed blend) that is also just lovely to handle. Romni was also handing out samples of Eucalan and Soak as well as a free pair of needles to all those participating in the TTC knitalong. The needles are not something I would personally use but perhaps my mother can use them or knows someone who prefers straights.

The Purple Purl:Going from left to right: Tanis Fibre Arts Blue Label Fingering Weight in lemongrass is going to become a baby sweater for my friend Mandi who is due the end of December. The indigodragonfly Merino Silk lace in the colourway Margaritaville which I have already cast on a project with (a little treat for myself) and I can say the yarn is absolutely delicious. The Malabrigo sock yarn is for my Dad’s socks this year as he has made it known that it is his favourite yarn for socks (despite my mother’s assumption he couldn’t tell the difference between yarns). And last but not least is a new yarn being carried by the Purl called Rocky Mountain Dyeworks Bow Falls Fingering in Ponderosa Pine. All the yarns with the exception of the Malabrigo are from Canadian dyers. Mmmmm yarn.

Americo:I purchased three skeins of Americo’s Pima Cotton in a beautiful turquoise colour. I’ve eyed their cotton for a while as it is some of the nicest looking cotton I have seen in my opinion. I’m hoping I bought enough to make myself a light summer top sometime in the future and when this happens I will let you know what I think about working with cotton.

The last skein of yarn I received was given to me by Hong of Team Red. She received it as a prize for having the best Knitting T-shirt which said “Will Knit for Tattoos”. As it turns out she does not knit with lace weight and offered it to me. It is a skein of Viola Merino lace in the nut brown colourway. And now my lovely skein of cashmere donegal tweed lives with her.

One thought on “Stash Acquisition (Part II of the TTC Knitalong 2011)

  1. Oh, so many lovely skeins! I bet they put a dent in your yarn budget!
    What size are the needles?
    Is the pregnant Mandi the Mandi that I have met?

Leave a Reply

